Skip to content

Scott O’Dell Historical Fiction Award
Presented for a work of historical fiction published by a U.S. publisher and set in the New World.

Newbery Awards The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Award Winners
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Award
For over thirty years now, books by African American writers and artists have been honored by being named Coretta Scott King Award winners or CSK Honor books. After three decades, a marvelous and rich collection of books to delight and to instruct young people can be found under this banner.

Evergreen Young Adult Book Award
The Evergreen Young Adult Award is established though a review group, consisting of young adults and librarians from the state of Washington. This award began in an effort to give teens in the state a voice in deciding the best literature aimed at their age group. The Evergreen Award Nominating Committee selects ten titles that represent a mix of teen-appealing titles.

The Michael L. Printz Award
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It will be selected annually by an award committee that can also name as many as four honor books. The award-winning book can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry or an anthology, and can be a work of joint authorship or editorship. The books must be published between January 1 and December 31 of the preceding year and be designated by its publisher as being either a young adult book or one published for the age range that YALSA defines as young adult, e.g. ages 12 through 18.

Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
The list is for young adults (ages 12-18) who, for whatever reasons, do not like to read. The purpose of this list is to identify titles for recreational reading, not for curricular or remedial use.

Lexile’s – Find a Book
Find a Book: Four simple steps. One custom reading list. The new Find a Book Web site is the quickest and easiest way to search the Lexile Book Database for titles at your Lexile level. Whether you’re reading for school or for pleasure, this FREE utility will help you build a custom reading list on the subjects that interest you the most! This site makes it easy for young people to find books at their reading level, whether they’re reading for school or for pleasure. Click here for more information on how to using the Lexile “Find a Book”.

Accelerated Reader Bookfinder
Assessment, reading, and math solutions for pre-K–12 schools and districts, providing educators with insights and resources to accelerate growth and help all students build a strong foundation for success.

Sasquatch Award
The purpose of this award is to promote the reading and writing of chapter books for the pleasure of young intermediate level readers. The children of Washington State chose the name for this award, given annually by the Washington Library Media Association.

Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award
Twenty favorite books are selected annually by children in grades K-3 in Washington State. After children vote in March, their top favorite becomes the Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book of the Year. Sponsored by the Washington Library Media Association.

Young Readers Choice Award
The Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Award is the oldest children’s choice award in the U.S. and Canada. The award was established in 1940 by a Seattle bookseller, the late Harry Hartman, who believed every student should have an opportunity to select a book that gives her or him pleasure.


YALSA Booklists
Each year, YALSA selects the best books and media for teens. Whether you’re looking for a book for a reluctant or avid teen reader, there’s sure to be a title that will fit the bill.

While these books have been selected for teens from 12 to 18 years of age, the award-winning titles and the titles on YALSA’s selected lists span a broad range of reading and maturity levels. We encourage adults to take an active role in helping individual teens choose those books that are the best fit for them and their families.

Back To Top