skip to Main Content
Library buildings are open to the public. Curbside pickup remains available. You can access our Digital Library 24/7.

Read-Alikes for “Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore”

 Check out these read-alike suggestions for “Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore” by Matthew Sullivan, author visiting our library virtually Nov. 2-5, read more.

5130du3pVgL

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in “The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas.” She survived—and famously testified that her fifteen-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, the Kill Club—a secret society obsessed with notorious crimes—locates Libby and pumps her for details. They hope to discover proof that may free Ben. Libby hopes to turn a profit off her tragic history: She’ll reconnect with the players from that night and report her findings to the club—for a fee. As Libby’s search takes her from shabby Missouri strip clubs to abandoned Oklahoma tourist towns, the unimaginable truth emerges, and Libby finds herself right back where she started—on the run from a killer. Request today!

81YzHKeWq7L

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever. Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived. To see how things would be if you had made other choices . . . “Would you have done anything differently, if you had the chance to undo your regrets?” Somewhere out beyond the edge of the universe there is a library that contains an infinite number of books, each one the story of another reality. One tells the story of your life as it is, along with another book for the other life you could have lived if you had made a different choice at any point in your life. While we all wonder how our lives might have been, what if you had the chance to go to the library and see for yourself? Would any of these other lives truly be better? Request today!

 

the-death-of-mrs-westawayThe Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

EVERY FAMILY HAS ITS SECRETS. SOME ARE WORTH KILLING FOR. When Harriet “Hal” Westaway receives an unexpected letter telling her she’s inherited a substantial

bequest from her Cornish grandmother, it seems like the answer to her prayers. She owes money to a loan shark and the threats are getting increasingly aggressive: she needs to get her hands on some cash fast. There’s just one problem – Hal’s real grandparents died more than twenty years ago. Request today!

 

 

A1SX23ag-CL

My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent

Turtle Alveston is a survivor. At 14, she roams the woods along the northern California coast. The creeks, tide pools, and rocky islands are her haunts and she is known to wander for miles. But while her physical world is expansive, her personal one is small and treacherous: Turtle has grown up isolated since her mother’s death, in the thrall of her tortured and charismatic father, Martin. Her social existence is confined to him and to the middle school (where she fends off anyone who might penetrate her shell). Then Turtle meets Jacob, a high-school boy who tells jokes, lives in a big clean house, and looks at Turtle as if she is the sunrise. Motivated by her first experience with real friendship, Turtle starts to imagine escape, using the very survival skills her father taught her. Request today!

71zcyRGprfL

The Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

When editor, Susan Ryeland, is given the tattered manuscript of Alan Conway’s latest novel, she has little idea it will change her life. She’s worked with the revered crime writer for years and his detective, Atticus Pund, is renowned for solving crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s. As Susan knows only too well, vintage crime sells handsomely. It’s just a shame that it means dealing with an author like Alan Conway…But Conway’s latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript there lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder. Request today!

 

81zrHiVeLGS

The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening …Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times…and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, and their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? Request today!

 

 

71AzpaJNrBL

The Butterfly House by Katrine Engberg

Hospitals are supposed to be places of healing. But in the coronary care unit at one of Copenhagen’s leading medical centers, a nurse fills a syringe with an overdose of heart medication and stealthily enters the room of an older male patient. Six days earlier, a paperboy on his route in central Copenhagen stumbles upon a macabre find: the naked body of a dead woman, lying in a fountain with arms marked with small incisions. Cause of death? Exsanguination—the draining of all the blood in her body. Clearly, this is no ordinary murder. Lead Investigator Jeppe Kørner, pounds the streets looking for answers, his partner Anette decides to do a little freelance sleuthing. But operating on her own exposes her to dangers she can’t even begin to fathom. Request today!

71UhnbUOwzL

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

It’s a tale of books and technology, cryptography and conspiracy, friendship and love. It begins in a mysterious San Francisco bookstore, but quickly reaches out into the wider world and the shadowed past. Request today!

Back To Top